Asian Academy Creative Awards UpdateLatest NewsPress Releases

Singapore [7 Dec 2022] Host nation Singapore got off to a flying start on the first of two nights at the Asian Academy Creative Awards, claiming a staggering 7 wins.

Post war drama “This Land Is Mine” is up for 5 awards but heads into tomorrow’s scripted competition with a win for Best Sound. The national carrier, Mediacorp, also added Best News Anchor and Best Direction (Non Fiction). Newcomers Vice Media scored documentary gold for Singapore and BBC claimed Best News Programme. 

Korea waited until the final award of the night to claim a golden Goddess, but it will be pleased to boast the coveted Best Original Programme By A Streamer for romcom Yumi’s Cells, such is the competition amongst the region’s platforms. 

India will consider itself well positioned to reclaim top spot heading into the Gala Final thanks to 4 wins tonight courtesy of rivals Discovery Channel (2) and National Geographic and Vice (for Esha Paul – Best Factual Presenter). 

Japan impressed with 3 awards including Best Animation for “Bubble” (Netflix) Best Voice Artist and a documentary gold to NHK. 

Australia claimed 3 wins on the opening night including an historic four-peat in the Best Documentary Programme category thanks to Osher Günsberg: A Matter of Life and Death for SBS Australia. Bluey claimed Best Pre-School.  Network Ten’s The Project won the hotly contested Best Single News Story /Report. 

Malaysia scored 2 golden statuettes for Star vs Food (Best Adaptation) and Best Short Form Content thanks to Disney, who also claimed Best Promo or Trailer for Indonesia and Best Branded in Singapore.  Taiwan picked up Best Children’s Programme 

The Asian Academy Creative Awards are being staged at the historic Chijmes Hall, a 19th century gothic church and also the location for the lavish wedding scene in “Crazy Rich Asians”. A further eighteen performance and scripted awards will be presented at Thursday evening’s Gala Awards Final. 


Singapore                     7

India                             4

Australia                       3

Japan                           3

Malaysia                       2

Indonesia                      1

Korea                           1

Taiwan                         1