National/Regional WinnersPress Releases

By: James Patrick Anarcon

ABS-CBN and GMA-7 actors and TV shows were among the Filipino national winners at the first Asian Academy Creative Awards (AAAs).

In entertainment TV production, ABS-CBN received 4 awards while GMA-7 got 8 awards for its daily drama and weekend programs.

Pinoy shows that were honored include ABS-CBN’s Wildflower, The Greatest Love, and Precious Hearts Romances: Araw Gabi and GMA-7’s Kambal Karibal, Ika-6 Na Utos, and The Clash.

Meanwhile, 9 programs of GMA’s News and Public Affairs department were recognized, including its teleserye Inday Will Always Love You.

Maja Salvador, Miguel Tanfelix, Kyline Alcantara, and Gabby Eigenmann also received top acting awards.

Other media outfits, such as CNN Philippines, BBC, August Media and BDA Creative Philippines, were also given awards.

The National winners were announced in Cannes for several territories. The Gala Finals of the AAAs will be held at Singapore’s historic Capitol Theatre in December 2018.

According to its website, the AAAs “will serve the creative industry as the pinnacle of achievement in content creation and honour excellence in craft and technical disciplines.”

Other countries that were given awards include Singapore, India, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong China, Australia, Chinese Taipei, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Thailand, Myanmar, Vietnam, and Bangladesh.

Here is the full list of national winners from the Philippines, as published in the AAA official Facebook page:

  • Best Actress in a Leading Role: Maja Salvador – Wildflower by ABS-CBN
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role: Miguel Tanfelix – Kambal Karibal by GMA
  • Best Direction (Fiction): Theodore Boborol – Araw Gabi by ABS-CBN
  • Best Single Drama or Telemovie: Maalaala Mo Kaya by ABS-CBN
  • Best Drama Series: The Greatest Love by ABS-CBN
  • Best Promo or Trailer: Inday Will Always Love You Launch Promo by GMA ·
  • Best Immersive (360, VR): Inside Marawi: A Report on 360 Video by Raffy Tima for GMA
  • Best 2D Animated Programme or Series: Tilda Appleseed by August Media
  • Best Preschool Programme: Tilda Appleseed by August Media
  • Best Children’s Entertainment or Drama: Disney Princess: I Dare To Dream by BDA Creative Philippines
  • Best Children’s Animated Programme or Series: Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko by GMA Network
  • Best Branded: Story of the Filipino: Tuberculosis by CNN
  • Best Infotainment Programme: Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho by GMA ·
  • Best News or Current Affairs Presenter: Jessica Soho-State of the Nation with Jessica Soho: “Marawi Liberation: War is Over” by GMA Network
  • Best Current Affairs Programme or Series: I-Witness: War Zone ER by GMA Network
  • Best Single News Story/Report: 24 Oras (24 Hours): Exclusive Report on the Rescue of Hostages in Marawi by GMA Network
  • Best News Programme: State of the Nation with Jessica Soho: Marawi Liberation War is Over by GMA Network
  • Best Natural History or Wildlife Programme: PHILIPPINES: ISLAND TREASURES by BBC
  • Best Documentary Programme (one-off/special): Philippine Seas by GMA Network
  • Best Telenovela/Soap: Ika-6 Na Utos by GMA Network
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Kyline Alcantara – Kambal Karibal by GMA Network
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Gabby Eigenmann – Contessa by GMA Network
  • Best Comedy Performance: Michael V. – Pepito Manaloto by GMA Network
  • Best Comedy Programme: Pepito Manaloto by GMA Network
  • Best Music or Dance Programme: The Clash by GMA Network