National/Regional WinnersPress Releases

By: Noreen Jazul

Filipino shows and actors were recognized during the first-ever Asian Academy Creative Awards (AAAs).

The AAAs, tagged as the most prestigious awards for creative excellence, honored programs and actors across 20 nations which excelled “in craft and technical disciplines across multiple platforms including television, digital, streaming and emerging technologies.”

Television network GMA bagged the most number of awards with a total of 16.

Kapuso actors who were recognized by the AAAs were Kambal Karibal’s Miguel Tanfelix (Best Actor in a Leading Role) and Kyline Alcantara (Best Actress in a Supporting Role), and Contessa’s Gabby Eigenmann (Best Actor in a Supporting Role).

Meanwhile, Michael V. was awarded Best Comedy Performance for his show “Pepito Manaloto”, which also won Best Comedy Programme.

For News and Current Affairs, GMA won Best Infotainment Programme for “Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho”, while its host Jessica Soho won Best News or Current Affairs Presenter. Soho’s “State of the Nation: Marawi Liberation War is Over” won Best News Programme.

Other GMA-7 shows honored were: 24 Oras: “Exclusive Report on the Rescue of Hostages in Marawi” – Best Single News Story/Report; “I-Witness: War Zone ER” – Best Current Affairs Programme or Series; “Philippine Seas” – Best Documentary Programme; Raffy Tima’s “Inside Marawi: A Report on 360 Video” – Best Immersive (360, VR); “Ika-6 Na Utos” – Best Telenovela/Soap; “The Clash” – Best Music or Dance Programme; “Daig Kayo Ng Lola Ko” – Best Children’s Animated Programme or Series; and “Inday Will Always Love You” Launch Promo – Best Promo or Trailer

ABS-CBN also won big at the AAAs, snatching four awards.

Kapamilya actress Maja Salvador was named Best Actress in a Leading Role for her show “Wildflower”. Other winners were Theodore Boborol (Best Direction – Fiction, “Araw Gabi”), “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (Best Single Drama or Telemovie) and “The Greatest Love” (Best Drama Series).

The AAAs also honored August Media’s “Tilda Appleseed” as Best 2D Animated Programme or Series and Best Preschool Programme, BBC’s “Philippines: Island Treasures” as Best Natural History or Wildlife Programme, CNN’s “Story of the Filipino: Tuberculosis” as Best Branded, and BDA Creative Philippines’ “Disney Princess : I Dare To Dream” as Best Children’s Entertainment or Drama.

Shows and actors from Singapore, India, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong, Australia, New Zealand, Taipei, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, and Bangladesh, were also recognized during the first AAAs.